View from my Guest House window

View from my Guest House window

The first day of the working week here is Sunday (Shambe) and so despite not sleeping for more than an hour or max 2 at any one time, I was ready and outside to be taken to the office with the van going in at about 7.30 am. The offices are also in a compound: cars drive in through a closed gate, and there are two buildings with a narrow lane between them. I was told they are apartment buildings that have been converted into office space. Once there, I first went to get internet access on my computer and iPhone and iPad, then off to see Rajesh at HR to get my photo taken for an id, then driven to town to get a Foreign Registration Card, which I will need to leave Afghanistan, and then a cup of tea in what has temporarily been set up for that purpose for non-fasting workers. Umm, another volunteer from Calgary, Canada, who is working on developing tools for monitoring and evaluation (M&E), took me to the office I share with her.

Then I got to meet with Garry , who after some initial small talk, talked to me about gender mainstreaming as a feature in their programs. I am not always sure I pick up on the nuances of what he is saying. He wanted me to meet Saleh, who wants to work with mullahs in order to address gender inequities, and I took notes of that conversation. Garry was present, and as we talked, what he has in mind for me to do here become a little clearer:

